Lot’s to say, and so little time!

This week I got confirmation that the current class I am enrolled in is indeed the last class that I need to take!

It’s a geometry and technology class and while I will not need to pass the national exam for the credential (I will have over 32 units of college level math), I will need to take it anyway to fulfill the grant that has paid for my classes. I will also take the fall calculus class that I have been offered a place in. The only other question is will I also take Latin on campus?

I had always promised myself  that if I could find Latin at night that I would take it, now a decade later I find it and I have calculus the same semester (with someone else footing that bill). I doubt I’ll have a contract come September, but if I do then I will decide based on that.

In other news, I have been packing away my tea cups and took some photos of the wondrous antique plates that were gifted me this year by the great Carrie…

DSCN2872

First we have a pleasant pastoral scene.

DSCN2875

The detail is great!

DSCN2873

And now for a little Dickens.

DSCN2874

Thank you Carrie!

Also this recently, harvested our rutabagas…

DSCN2876

There’s about 10lbs there.

We have had some possum trouble with nibbling on the crook necked squash we may need to put up netting and get some traps.

I went over to my friend Karen’s house yesterday and learned a bit about canning (we made yummy blackberry jam from  fruit grown in her yard.

Next week I plan to make some blueberry lime jam and maybe try to pickle my beets, cross you fingers for me.

Today I’m staying close to home as the washing machine is “not well” and we may need to go get a new part.

Puppy just found out what was broken and now all we need to do is get the part and he’ll fix it!

Yay for having a handy man handy!

Next I’m going to go to a slow foods workshop over at The Road Less Traveled store in Santa Ana.

We’re planning on going to The 2009 Tree Hugger’s Ball on the 20th which looks like a blast. I wanted to go last year, but we had just moved and I think Puppy was out of town.

03

Anyhow, I may be rather busy with my summer school class over the next month or so, but do not fret I am thinking of you all!

Have a great summer.

 

11 Comments

  1. June 7, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    Tree Hugger’s ball!! That sounds wonderful!!

    Why are you packing up your tea cups? Did I miss something? Good luck with your classes!!

    Yes, it pays to have a handy man around. I’m lucky like that too!!

    Thanks for stopping by today!!

    Hugs!!

  2. knittnkitten said,

    June 7, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    We are about to resurface the last wall in our living room (where the teacups are kept) and we will be adding more shelf space before we finish painting the room, all in all good reason to pack!

    Hugs back at you!

  3. Janet said,

    June 8, 2009 at 9:16 am

    All that talk about math had me spinning! I’m the world’s worst when it comes to math.

    What will you do with 10 lbs of rutabagas??

  4. Brigit said,

    June 8, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Don,t you have 1 or 2 years of Latin under your belt already ? You will be able to converse with Guy in no time…….Rutabagas…are they what we would call, white turnips? Tony want’s to know is 32 equivalent to an M.A if so congratulation…….well hundreds of congratulations actually. Happy redecorating… love to you and Puppy Beex

  5. knittnkitten said,

    June 8, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Janet,
    I’m planning to make the stew I make in a big batch and then freeze it.

    Bee,
    Only i year, 30 years ago!
    Rutabagas = swede
    32 units of any one subject = teachers second credential (no exam).
    Sadly the school I go to doesn’t offer MA’s for single subject teachers.

  6. Jacki said,

    June 8, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    You enjoy your summer, too!

  7. June 10, 2009 at 1:54 am

    The Tree Huggers Ball??! How wonderful – enjoy! XX

  8. naturegirl said,

    June 13, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Precilous plates you have..treasures for sure!
    Now about the possum ((traps)) I sure hope that these are humaine traps…no hurting the animals please.naturegirl who adores wildlife.

  9. naturegirl said,

    June 13, 2009 at 10:59 am

    OOPs forgot..a tree huggers ball!! I’m a tree hugger too..so I’d love to attend!

  10. knittnkitten said,

    June 13, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Of course they are humane!
    What to do with them once they are caught can be an ethical question, however, we have a riverbed a few miles from us that we can release them to.

  11. Dont said,

    July 8, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Your education is so commendable! I agree, it’s handy to have a handy man around, my boyfriend is a man’s man like that too. 🙂 Hope the tree hugger ball was fab!


Leave a comment