Morning in the garden.

Today was designated strawberry repotting day. We had noticed the poor performance of our strawberries the last couple of years, but just figured that they didn’t enjoy the move from our old place.

Then a friend mentioned that the plants are only good for a few year (ours were about 7 years old).

We did a little research and found that the do better if you repot them annually, trimming the bare roots.

We will see how they do.

Someone suggested placing them around the base of a blueberry for decoration, so I thought I’d give it a go.

At worst the won’t perform real well and we will replace them next year,

In other news the winter garden continues to grow.

Puppy cleared out the tomato from the far side of the patch and trimmed the sage so that I can put my leeks and garlic in the ground.

And then we found some LBM’s by the pond.

I think that this was the best photo I got, bit we will see if I can pick out some more.

8 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    January 3, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Yum! Fresh strawberries….I hope they do good for you. When I was a kid we had a huge strawberry patch and I loved to sneak out there and gobble them up!

  2. knittnkitten said,

    January 3, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I love fresh strawberries warmed by the sun.

  3. January 3, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I am so hungry right now! Everything looks marvelous and delicious!

    Hugs!!

  4. pam aries said,

    January 3, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Happy new year..those are some tomatoes ,gal!

  5. Jacki said,

    January 4, 2010 at 8:18 am

    As always, your garden amazes me!!

  6. Brigit said,

    January 4, 2010 at 9:27 am

    you have the weather ….and the energy….and green fingers….and your Very clever to make it look so good

  7. JoLyn said,

    January 8, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Yes… I’m very envious of your lovely garden–especially in January!

  8. January 12, 2010 at 1:53 am

    What a fabulous garden – how lovely.


Leave a Reply

