Been busy!

As you know I’ve been unwell, however last weekend we did manage to make it up to Pacific Palisades for the LA chapter of the CRFG meeting. It was a presentation by the owner of The Papaya Tree Nursery who had a bunch of useful information about growing what you wanted. We may be getting some products from him.

This weekend was crowded, I had a training for work all day Friday followed by a doctors appointment, an acupuncturists appointment (thank you Puppy) and a math conference in the evening. Saturday involved me going to the math conference again all day while Puppy raised our fence a little, then I came home and took a nap for Earth Hour that lasted till morning. Today I worked on my math homework with Hai, my partner at the class. Then Puppy and I went off to a workshop on water harvesting and soil replenishment by a local permaculture group. Here are some new photos…

dscn2657

Fencing ala Puppy!

dscn2677

Our peach tree has begun to sprout, but they’re so small I cant get my camera to focus on them.

We were worried about this one as we got it the same time we got our apple….

dscn2660

And we grafted a plum on to the peach the same time as we grafted our avocado…

dscn2678

I think we’ve lost the plum, but oh well, maybe next year we’ll try again.

In other garden news…

dscn2656

Our Ladybug pupa are beginning to ripen (sorry about the quality, I just had to share).

dscn26611

I planted my potted sage and it bloomed for the first time ever!

dscn2662

Here’s a shot of what’s happening in the green house.

dscn2675

Our blueberries are in bloom,

dscn2676

As are our “native” fuschia gooseberries.

The news on the banana front is not looking so good.

dscn2667

Puppy took of a pup growing out of the base and then a wind storm came through and I’m not sure we’re gonna make it.

On the good news front…

dscn2671

Our fish are feeling a bit more relaxed (still no sign of the big koi).

7 Comments

  1. March 29, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Wow! Great pics! I have Clary sage. It won’t bloom until this Summer.
    You have been very busy. I wish I had a green house. I really need one here!
    Take care, Knittenkitten!
    Hugs!!

  2. Yoga Gal said,

    March 30, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Your garden looks great, like the gold fish~

  3. Jacki said,

    April 2, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Oh that looks great! I cannot wait to get my garden going. I have decided that this year I will focus on getting the flowers, then next year I am going to try my hand at growing a salad garden…different lettuces. Of course I’ll start growing herbs, too.

  4. Brigit said,

    April 2, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    you done good love Bx

  5. joan said,

    April 3, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I’m green with envy!

  6. Robin said,

    April 5, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    looks good!

  7. May 14, 2009 at 11:49 am

    you even have fish – how lovely. it looks like such a peaceful place to relax…


Leave a Reply

